oppression

Oppression

when I was ten
my sister and her friend
locked me up
in the cupboard
under the stairs

when finally
she let me out
only minutes before
mum and dad
got back home

I beat her
bloody

an adult now
I’m still
imprisoned
in a cupboard
of society’s making

though I try
to break free
mum will not
let me
because

my sister might
get hurt

This entry was posted in coming out, FTM, poetry, transgender and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to oppression

  1. krisalex333 says:

    So damn YOUR feelings? Ouch. I feel for you, Liam. Take care.
    Kris

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately, that’s nothing new. Somehow, her needs seem to have always been more important than mine. When she screwed up, more often than not, I got the blame. In the end, it’s always about her, and I resent that.
      I guess I will go public really soon now. I’m done waiting. Fed up. I’m bloody choking in that cupboard. I need to get out and finally be able to breathe.

      Like

  2. Tam says:

    Hoping things change for the better for you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

