fatal cocktail

I dabble in poetry. Though I’m not a great poet and better at writing fiction, there are times when a poem is called for.

I like writing poems. They challenge me to build an entire story using only a scattering of words. To paint a picture with a few strokes of the brush.

Today, I’d like to share a poem I wrote several years ago, about something that happened even longer ago – as if in a previous lifetime.

—– Trigger warning: Suicide —–

Also, don’t try this at home. I’m freaking serious here. Even if you are suicidal (which I hope you’re not), this is not the way to try and leave this world. As someone told me later it’s a pretty darn stupid method, unlikely to really get you killed, but with a high risk of irreversible liver damage. Irreversible. That’s permanent, folks. Once you got it, you’re going to have to live with it for the rest of your life! I was incredibly lucky to get away with only some minor liver damage, which was cured by not taking any meds (or alcohol) for several weeks.

Oh, and there’s this: I’m not advocating suicide. It’s a lousy way to go. And I know from experience that even after the darkest of times the sun will come shining through. Eventually.

fatal cocktail

one hundred and
twenty
paracetamol

with

about the same
amount
of mixed
tranquilizers and
sleeping pills

and

half a glass
of water

you wake up
in hospital
with
electrodes
drips and drains
attached

to your body

and
your roommate
dying

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to fatal cocktail

  1. Kris says:

    Oh, Liam – so glad it failed, otherwise I would not have “met” you. Been there, tried that, although a different method, and yes, it does get better. Black clouds do still descend on me sometimes, but the love of B and pooch makes me keep going. All the best, buddy.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, me too. Although I wasn’t happy at the time, I’m happy now that it failed. Had I succeeded, I’d never have had my children, my cats and the wonderful friends (yes, I’m looking at you, mate) I met here.
      Also – and this is very important – I’d never have figured out or accepted my true identity. I’d have gone down a fake, which is not a good thing in my book.
      But now, because I failed, I am actually succeeding. I succeeded at creating my own family and living my own life, and now I’m even on my way to become the man I was always meant to be. How cool is that?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kris says:

    Extra super cool! Take care, Liam.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

