Questions

I was surfing the web, reading up on gender issues. Nothing new there. Until I came across a page on Madeline Wyndzen’s site All Mixed Up.

I’d seen the questions before, formulated differently, and asked them myself about a thousand times, but as I don’t think I ever wrote about them here yet I figured I might do that. Answer those questions here, on the blog.

Before you read on, I want to make clear that these are just my answers and – like Madeline says – there are no right or wrong anwers. These answers just happen to be mine and in writing them out I might just give myself a better understanding of where I’ve come from, where I’m standing right now, and where I want/need to go to.

“Imagine you could start life over, right from the moment you were born. Knowing everything you know now, you get to choose which sex you are born. What choice would you make? Why did you make that choice? What might be better about your life as the sex you chose? What might be worse about your life as the sex you chose?”

This is a hard one for me to anwer, seeing that I feel (and I realise full well that I might be wrong here) like my parents really did not want to have a son, so to me it feels like choosing between being born a welcome girl or an unwanted boy. Still, I think I’d have chosen to be a boy.

What would have been worse?

Obviously, the having to deal with Mum’s apparent hatred for boys and Dad’s… I don’t know… indifference, perhaps? Then again, things might have gone different, had I been born a boy. My parents might have been shocked at first, but would have come to love me because I’d still have been their child. Their flesh and blood. Surely, that should count for something, no?

Other than that, I can’t really think of anything having been worse. Better?

Plenty of things! I’d have been able to just be me without the burden of that constant guilt. I would never have had to try and be a real girl, because I’d have been a boy for all to see. No knitting and needlework for me, but wood- and metalwork instead. No dresses but trousers. Short hair instead of that horrible, waist-length ponytail. Cars to play with.

Then, as I got older, I’d never have had to worry about silly things like make-up. No teasing for gender non conforming behaviour. I’d have had no reason to be ashamed for loving a girl, and would never have had to pretend that I loved I boy. No feelings of inadequacy because obviously I was coming up short as a girl.

Worse as I got older: I wouldn’t have had my children. That is, not the ones I have now, but then again I might very well have married a nice girl and we might have had some wonderful children of our own.  That would have been better than what I have now, seeing that I got married to a man I love as a friend, but never as a romantic partner. My marriage to him has always been a compromise, and we both knew this long before we got married. For years, he secretly hoped that would change. I knew it wouldn’t. We do have our wonderful children though, and I couldn’t imagine my life without them.

Better: I most likely wouldn’t have been as emotionally messed up, seeing that a lot of my emotional distress (though not all) stemmed from being born a girl but never quite feeling like one. The shame and feelings of inadequacy for not being able to live up to expectations were at times almost too hard to bear.

Assuming I’d have been born with my DNA exactly the same as it is now (save for that extra X-chromosome) I’d still have inherited the “depression-gen”, and I’d still have inherited the defective gen that caused my Ehlers-Danlos, but just not having had to deal with the gender issue would have made life easier on me.

“Now try a slight twist on your hypothetical: Imagine you could start life over, right from the moment you were born. Knowing everything you know now, you get to choose to change one and only one of two things. (1) you can change the sex you’re born as or (2) you can change your feelings so you never have any gender identity issues. That is, if you might be a Female-to-Male transsexual you can choose to be been boy or be born as a girl without ever feeling you are or should be a boy.”

Nice twist. Not only did I ask myself these questions, but others did as well. My first reaction was to choose the second option. Changing my feelings rather than my gender. That was until I realised – and this realisation came within seconds – that changing my feelings meant giving up everything I love. Giving up everything I am and basically become a completely different person. I couldn’t do that. Ever.

I don’t want to be a girl. I don’t want to spend my life sitting on the couch, sipping tea and working on my fucking embroidery. I don’t want to paint my face with lipstick, eyeshadow and heaven-knows-what. I don’t want to wear another dress in my entire life! I cannot be who I am not.

So that only leaves me option 1: being born a boy. And please, born with the same DNA I was born with now, except for that one chromosome. Y, not X, thank you very much. I like the person I am. I just don’t like the female body it came in and would change that in hearbeat, if only it were that easy!

There’s many more questions on Madeline’s website, and I’d love to answer them all here and now, but that would be too much in one go, so I’m going to spread it out over several posts.

To be continued.

This entry was posted in FTM, transgender and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Questions

  1. Kris says:

    I was wondering about hubby, but have been too decent to ask. Now you cleared up that question for me. Think I’ll visit Madeline’s site. Thanks for the link. Take care, Liam.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat says:

    This is very interesting. It makes me think about my son and his 18 years living as a girl. I’ve often wondered what kind of person he would have been without the gender issues. Every little thing that happens to you shapes and forms the person you become so there’s no way of knowing how different he would have been. (I like him the way he is. I have 3 totally unique and different boys.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jamie Ray says:

    Thanks for the link to the site. The questions are interesting – the question I struggle with the most is would I rather be a trans guy or a cis guy? I don’t know the answer to that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I saw that question there, but it is an interesting question that has been keeping my thoughts occupied as well. And I don’t really know the answer either. Then again, I don’t think I really fit into the gender binary all that well. I don’t feel 100% man. It’s just that I feel more man than woman, if that makes any sense at all.

      Like

  4. Josh Moll says:

    Hey dear man! I liked reading this post untill I came to your fucking embroidery phrase. Then I got really angry. OK, I am sipping tea and knitting, but I feel very worthy doing just that. And I have been the fastest worker on the onion packing machine, I have been able to carry calves on my shoulder and climb on a roof and repair it. That kind of girl, you know.
    You know I honor you and your gender issue. But girls could be strong and capable and not wear dresses and have short hair and stuff like that.
    I know they are your answers. But I suddenly felt attacked.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sorry to hear you felt attacked. That was not my intention. I never meant to attack anyone or make them feel any less worthy.
      This is just me hating embroidery, hating knitting, hating make-up and dresses. But that’s only when it pertains to me. Because you know what? I love to see a pretty girl sipping tea, working on her embroidery, wearing make-up and a nice dress. It’s all a matter of perspective.
      Also, I like tea. I just don’t think I could sip it in that feminine way I’ve seen some women doing. You know, china cup and saucer, little finger lifted… that’s not me.

      Like

      • Also, Josh, I think I should clarify why I wrote “fucking embroidery” and not just “embroidery”. You deserve to know why this is so emotionally laden to me. I cannot think about doing embroidery without feeling like I’m being back in primary school with the crafts teacher (a nasty lady who taught the girls to sew, knit, embroider, etc) while the boys were having their crafts lesson elsewhere – and with a nice teacher – working with wood, metal, clay… I hated every minutes of those lessons. Nothing I made was ever good enough, and the teacher really seemed to hate my guts. She would scold me, nag at me and generally be a pain in my arse. All in all, nothing but bad memories there.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Kris says:

    It should not be necessary for us to clarify each and every post or sentence with “as pertaining to me” or, “this is only how I feel” or, “this post and blog is one person’s personal view only”. People will always take exception or look for something to feel aggrieved about. I would have qualified embroidery as fucking too, and knitting, and crocheting, but my wife loves it. Write what you feel, Liam. Raw and honest. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree that it shouldn’t be, but what should and what is, isn’t always the same. I’ve known Josh for quite some years now, and she never struck me as someone who takes offense easily, so for her to get angry, I must have struck a chord and hurt her. I hate to hurt a friend.
      It won’t make me take back what I wrote, though, because what I wrote is my own hearfelt truth. I will continue to write like this too. It’s part of who I am. But when a friend tells me I hurt him or her, I will apologise for the hurt I caused. Not for what I wrote, though.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

