Should I sack him?

That assheaded simpleton! That pompous lamebrain. Is he fucking out of his addled mind?

Time to fess up: I’ve been diagnosed with several mental disorders. Although I’m convinced that not all of them are correct (seeing that they were very fashionable back when I got them and the diagnosing was really done by nurses and a psychiatrist confirmed them without hardly even knowing me) I’m still stuck with them. Then there’s the labels that are correct. Like the schizoaffective disorder of the depressive type. The label schizoid personality disorder may or may not be correct, but definitely made a lot of sense back when I got it.

There are two main reasons why I never mentioned my mental history before.

  1. Stigma. Do I need to elaborate? No, I didn’t think so.
  2. No need. Because my mental disorder doesn’t usually interfere with my life a whole lot. Sure, I’ve never been able to hold a job, but over the years I discovered that I can still lead a meaningful life. The job doesn’t make the man.

Today I had my regular appointment with my mental health nurse. She’s great and totally believes in me. She knows me well, and is absolutely convinced that I’m not talking out of my arse when I say I’m transgender. In fact, the moment I told her, she said she wasn’t surprised at all. (Like most of the people I know, incidentally.)

Since I hadn’t seen her in four weeks, I had a lot to talk about but more than anything else, I needed to tell her about my latest visit to my gender therapist and the obnoxious things he said.

It was then, that my mental health nurse said he had phoned her and she’d become really angry with him for saying that he thought I wasn’t transgender at all, and it was just something to do with my mental disorder. She told him in no uncertain terms that she’d been a mental health nurse for decades and had a lot of experience and she was 100% sure that I really am transgender. She also told him my mental health problems were in large part caused by my being transgender and unable to develop my true identity because I grew up in a time and environment that wasn’t exactly trans-friendly.

So there we have it. I suspected it, but thought I was being paranoid about it. But now I have proof. The man is biased. He never took me seriously, simply because of some stupid labels.

That’s unprofessionalism at its worst. I think I’ll sack him. I just have to figure out how best to go about it. My GP might be able to help there.

 

This entry was posted in transgender and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Should I sack him?

  1. Jamie Ray says:

    So, if you can’t have mental health issues and be transgender, does the logic also apply that you can’t have mental health issues and be cisgender? That someone with mental health issues can’t know what gender they are or whether their gender and assigned at birth sex are not matched? Really. You need to fire the guy.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Kris says:

    I agree with Jamie. Fire him. And throw some fire crackers after him.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. PlainT says:

    What a horrible therapist! Way to let go of your biases and be there for clients… He was probably trained to see mental disorders as a cause and transness as a symptom; when in reality it’s probably often the other way around.

    Also do you think that a female therapist might have fewer biases, because they work in a field whose theories were created by men and therefore they might have a more critical eye? I don’t know if this is the reality or not, and not all female therapists are saints either; just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. He’s an asshat, and that’s for sure. My thoughts are, he’s still young and doesn’t have a lot of experience yet. Also, he only works part time at the gender clinic but his main job is being a psychiatrist at a psychiatric child/youth clinic. There’s no mention whatsoever of his job at the gender clinic on his Linkedin profile. And yes, I got annoyed enough to look him up on Linkedin. He probably knows zilch about “older” trans people.
      Not sure about a female therapist being less biased. I guess it really depends on the person.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Right on Psych nurse!! What an ass this therapist is. I felt it after your last post that he took the devils advocate thing too far. It seems indeed he has a bias. Thank god you have this mental health practitioner who knows you well and is going to bat for you!!!! Too bad she cant write the letter! Hang in there. And definitely fire the biased ass!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, pity my nurse can’t write the letter. I’d have been on T for over half a year by now isf she could.
      But blimey I hate having to get myself another gender therapist. It feels like so much time has been wasted already, and now I’m gonna have to start all over again.

      Like

      • Will they accept a letter from an overseas gender therapist? If so I will write you one. I’m a WPATH member if it makes a difference. Maybe I’m being overly something but man you’ve been through enough hoops. Everyone who knows you knows the truth of your identity.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Sky, I don’t know what to say. You are super! I’m not sure if a letter from you would get me on T, but I think it might be very helpful indeed. Your being a WPATH member definitely will make a difference. I’ve been looking into finding myself another therapist and have found two that might be willing to accept your letter and get me started on T on short notice.
          I’ll contact you privately. Thank you so much!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Josh Moll says:

    What an asshat indeed. But you can probably handle him now? And tell him that when he doesn’t stop being biased you’ll sue him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t really know what I want to do right now. Still torn between giving him a right proper bollocking or getting myself another therapist. Could I actually sue him?

      Like

      • Josh Moll says:

        Yes, if your mental nurse supports you. But I would talk to him first, and explain how you feel and that you feel wrongly treated. And tell him your dilemma, that you don’t want to invest your time and energy into a new therapist but that if he cannot step away from his biased thinking you will have to go to another therapist and sue him for biased treatment. And tell him that because of your high giftedness you are used to people being wrong about you, because they don’t understand how complex your coping strategies are.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

