T-Day

Finally! Today is T-Day.

Yesterday the taxi picked me up at half seven – which is way too early for me, but that couldn’t be helped, as I didn’t fancy an even longer wait – and took me to my appointment with the endocrinologist. At 10 AM.

I got to the hospital early, but that was good. As this was my first visit to this particular hospital, there were some administrative chores to be taken care of, and that required time. And, seeing that this isn’t just some small hospital it took me a while to actually get to the internal medicine department, so in the end I got there only 20 minutes early, which isn’t bad at all.

In the waiting room I got Neil Gaiman’s “American Gods” out of my backpack and soon I was lost in Shadow’s adventures with Mr Wednesday.

The endocrinologist got called away so by the time she called me in for our appointment she was half an hour late. Time I spent with Shadow, so I was never bored.

We had a lot of medical history to go over – over half a century, and quite some interesting diagnoses – and then there was the usual stuff, so that took some time. About one hour later I wheeled out of the edocrinologist’s office with my prescription for T, and headed over to the Vampire’s to get six (!) vials of blood sucked out of my arm. Hah!

By the time that was done, it was almost noon and I hurried back to the main hall, where my taxi driver came for me before I’d even had time to put on my coat properly.

I got home around two, had a drink and crashed in bed. I was thoroughly exhausted. Got up again by half past three, but still felt bloody awful, and worse with every passing minute. Stupid EDS. I could so do without that.

This morning I felt quite a bit better, though the fatigue is still doing funny things to my head and stomach, but that will pass. The important thing is, I am now officially on T.

It “only” took a little over two years, but I took my first dose of testosteron today. I can’t wait to see the changes.

About Liam

Poet, writer, aspiring minimalist
This entry was posted in FTM, transgender and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to T-Day

  1. Cairtheand says:

    I´m curious to find out how you´ll feel over the next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kris says:

    Hallelujah!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. johnmitchk says:

    Great news! Congratualtions! (Although you may have to get used to the six vials of blood samplings but still :D)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Woowhoo at long last. Congrats and enjoy the unfolding.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lesboi says:

    Congrats Liam!!! I can’t wait to hear how it all goes for you! The best of luck my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jamie Ray says:

    I am so glad that you got through the gatekeeping and are officially getting transition services. I hope the T agrees with you and that you get the changes you want.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LovingLaine says:

    Congrats on this huge step! I know you have waited so long for this day. Cheers to the journey ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

